The rich history of the AERA Motivation in Education Special Interest Group can be traced back to the 1970s. The SIG was formally established in 1979. For more details on its genesis and growth, see the report on the SIG’s history written by Allan Wigfield and Theresa (Terri) Thorkildsen (with assistance from Judith Meece), which can be accessed here.

As part of our mission to advance motivation research in education, we were able to plan a landmark session at AERA 2017 that brought together a panel of motivation theorists and SIG founders including Edward Deci, Jacquelynne Eccles, Chris Hulleman, Dale Schunk, Tim Urdan, and Bernie Weiner. Alison Koenka facilitated the conversation, and Sandra Graham offered remarks as a moderator. The session, “Motivation Theory Yesterday, Today, and Tomorrow: Reflections of Founders and Descendants,” was a resounding success with standing room only available in the room.

Founders (1979)

  • Carole Ames
  • Russell Ames
  • Marty Covington
  • Jacque Eccles
  • Even Keislar (Initiator)
  • John Nicholls
  • Marty Maehr
  • Bernie Weiner

Invited SIG Keynote Speakers

  • 2021: Mesmin Destin, Elan Hope, Shanette Porter, Chauncey Smith (Moderated by DeLeon Gray)
  • 2020: Claude Steele, Mesmin Destin, Elan Hope (Moderated by DeLeon Gray) – Canceled due to COVID-19
  • 2019: Jamaal S. Matthews, Jessica DeCuir-Gunby, Ronnel King, Ellen Usher (Moderated by Akane Zusho)
  • 2018: Panel of Early Career Scholars (Canning, Fong, Gray, Lauermann)
  • 2017: Judith Harackiewicz, University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA
  • 2016: Cynthia Hudley, University of California, Santa Barbara, USA
  • 2015: Sandra Graham, University of California, Los Angeles, USA
  • 2014: Jacquelynne S. Eccles, University of Michigan, USA
  • 2013: Bernie Weiner, University of California, Los Angeles, USA
  • 2012: Reinhard Pekrun, Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich, Germany
  • 2011: Ruth Butler, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Jerusalem
  • 2010: Julianne C. Turner, Notre Dame, USA
  • 2009: Allan Wigfield, University of Maryland, USA
  • 2008: Susan Nolen, University of Washington, USA
  • 2007: Judith Meece, University of North Carolina, USA
  • 2006: Richard Ryan, University of Rochester, USA
  • 2005: Carol Ames, Marty Covington, Marty Maehr, Bernie Weiner

Former SIG Officers

April 2020-April 2022
Carlton Fong
Program Chair: Tony Perez
Treasurer: Katie Muenks
Graduate Co-Chairs*:  Arianna White, Yin Chen, Kori Nicolai
Early Career Co-Chairs*: Martin Daumiller, Annette Ponnock, Jessica Gladstone,

April 2018-April 2020
Erika Patall
Program Chair: Jennifer Schmidt
Treasurer: Carlton Fong
Graduate Co-Chairs*:  Peter McPartlan, Patrick Beymer, Arianna White
Early Career Co-Chairs*: Emily Rosenzweig, Alison Koenka, Martin Daumiller

April 2016-April 2018
Ellen Usher
Program Chair: Hadley Solomon
Treasurer: Marcus Johnson
Graduate Co-Chairs*:  Emily Rosenzweig, Carly Champagne

April 2014-April 2016
Chair: Tim Urdan
Program Chair: Sarah Kiefer
Treasurer:  AnneMarie Conley
Graduate Co-Chairs*: Michael Barger, Sarah Pennington, Emily Rosenzweig

April 2012-April 2014
Chair:  Helen Watt, Monash, Australia
Program Chair: Jessica Summers, University of Arizona, USA
Treasurer: Toni Kempler Rogat, Rutgers University, USA
Graduate Co-Chairs*: Michael Barger, Kara Makara, Fani Lauermann, Megan Sanders

April 2010-April 2012
Chair: Michael Middleton
Program Chair: Helen Watt
Treasurer:  Michelle Riconscente
Graduate Co-Chairs*: Kara Makara, Fani Lauermann

April 2008-April 2010
Chair: Johnmarshall Reeve
Program Chair: Michael Middleton
Treasurer: Lisa Linnenbrink-Garcia

April 2006-April 2008
Chair: Lynley Anderman
Program Chair: Avi Kaplan
Treasurer: Jessica Summers

April 2004-April 2006
Chair: Tamera Murdock
Program Chair: Lynley Anderman

April 2002-April 2004
Julie Turner
Program Chair:
Timothy Urdan

April 2000-April 2002
Chair: Eric Anderman
Program Chair: Tamera Murdock

April 1998-April 2000
Chair: Carolyn Jagacinski
Program Chair: Eric Anderman

April 1996-April 1998
Chair: Judith Meece
Program Chair: Teresa Garcia

April 1994-April 1996
Chair: Paul Pintrich
Program Chair: Susan Nolen

April 1992-April 1994
Chair: Allan Wigfield
Program Chair: Jaana Juvonen

April 1990-April 1992
Chair: Arden Miller
Program Chair: Paul Pintrich

April 1988-April 1990
Chair: Dale Schunk
Program Chair: Arden Miller

Chair/Program Chair: Dale Schunk

Chair/Program Chair: Mary Rohrkemper (McCaslin)

Chair/Program Chair: Harris Cooper

Chair/Program Chair: Carole Ames

Chair/Program Chair: Deborah Stipek

Chair/Program Chair: Jacquelynne Eccles

Chair/Program Chair: Russell Ames

*Graduate and ECR Co-Chairs are self-governing and elected by graduate members