AERA 2017 Symposium on Motivation Theory

Published by Calah Ford on

Allan Wigfield-Univ. of Maryland

Allan Wigfield
University of Maryland-College Park

Alison C. Koenka-OSU

Alison C. Koenka
Ohio State University

Researchers have learned much about motivation and its relations to important achievement and broader life outcomes. Over the last 50 years there have been several major theoretical models of motivation guiding much of this research; these models continue to be the dominant ones in the field.

The purpose of this symposium is to bring together researchers who either developed these models or contributed much to them to:
1) Present their views of the current status of the model and its future directions
2) Interact among themselves and with the audience about major issues future research on motivation and the theoretical models guiding that research both need to resolve.


Bernard Weiner-UCLA

Bernard Weiner
Attribution Theory
Presenting Author

Jacquelynne Eccles-UC Irvine

Jacquelynne Eccles
Expectancy Value Theory
Presenting Author

Dale H. Schunk-UNC

Dale H. Schunk
Motivation and Social Cognitive Theory
Presenting Author

University of Rochester psychology professors Richard Ryan, left and Edward Deci outside Meliora Hall May 25, 2010. The two are internationally recognized scholars who developed Self-Determination Theory, which holds that well-being depends in large part on meeting one's basic psychological needs for autonomy, competence, and relatedness.   //photo:  J. Adam Fenster/University of Rochester

Edward Deci (right)
Self-Determination Theory
Presenting Author

Richard M. Ryan (left)
Non-Presenting Author

Tim Urdan-Santa Clara Univ.

Tim Urdan
Achievement Goal Theory:
Where it Came From and Where it is Going

Presenting Author

Categories: AERAAERA 2017Events